Council

Monday, 16th May, 2016 3.10 - 3.15 pm

Attendees	
Councillors:	Chris Ryder (Chair), Klara Sudbury (Vice Chair), Matt Babbage, Adam Lillywhite, Chris Mason, Chris Nelson, John Payne, Wendy Flynn, Garth Barnes, Ian Bickerton, Nigel Britter, Chris Coleman, Mike Collins, Colin Hay, Tim Harman, Rowena Hay, Sandra Holliday, Steve Jordan, Helena McCloskey, Paul McCloskey, Andrew McKinlay, Tony Oliver, Louis Savage, Diggory Seacome, Malcolm Stennett, Klara Sudbury, Pat Thornton, Jon Walklett, Simon Wheeler, Roger Whyborn and David Willingham

Minutes

1. APOLOGIES

Councillors Harvey, Parsons and Williams.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were none.

3. HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Head of Paid Service introduced the report and explained that Council may confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who it considers have rendered eminent services to the Authority in their past roles as councillors.

Historically, Council has conferred the title of Honorary Alderman upon its past members in recognition of both long service and significant contribution to the Authority's affairs.

The longstanding local criteria which has been applied when conferring the title of Honorary Alderman is that the person has at least 16 years' service or is a past Mayor and Chairman of the Council

A number of former Councillors fall within the criteria and have been nominated by the Group Leaders.

The Head of Paid Service explained that once agreed by Council, their appointments will be recognised as part of the Inauguration of the Mayor ceremony at the Town Hall on Wednesday 18 May 2016.

RESOLVED THAT

The title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors :

Barbara Driver Jacky Fletcher John Rawson Anne Regan Duncan Smith

> Chris Ryder Chairman